Weekend Plans and Summer Streak

I received an email last week with the subject “challenge” from a friend who knows me well enough to recognize that I would likely accept the challenge before reading the contents of the email.  The challenge that she was offering me was Runner’s World’s Summer Streak which runs from Memorial Day to the Fourth of July and the goal is to run at least one mile each day during that time.  Although this sounds easy, there are certainly days that running just doesn’t fit well into my schedule so I knew that it would be interesting to try.  Additionally, I decided to take this as an opportunity to improve my short-distance speed and so on Monday I timed myself running one mile at the track and am going to try to improve on that time throughout the 38 days of this challenge.

I was actually shocked at how difficult it felt to run a flat-out mile.  I was breathless by the time I finished the sprint and I can say that I certainly have my work cut out for me this summer.  I’m planning to time the mile every week or so when I get an opportunity to run somewhere like a track.  Time to beat: 7:22.  I would love to take close to a minute off of that time, although I’m not sure that I can improve quite that much by July.

To make things even more interesting, the friend who suggested this is getting married in June so I guess she and I will be running on her wedding day!

Although this is a short week due to the holiday, I am so excited for the upcoming weekend that it seems to be dragging on forever.  It is going to be a fun and fitness filled weekend, here is my plan:

Friday night, being the first Friday of the month, is Nite Sweats at Bikram LES!  This amazing night is full of music, lights and lots of sweaty yoga, and all proceeds benefit the Lower East Side Girl’s Club.  I look forward to this every month!

Saturday I am going to be taking part in the first annual Lu-Athalon hosted by the 66th Street Lululemon.  The event will include a flywheel ride with Danielle Devine, a 5k run and  a yoga class at House of Jai.  I love the idea of this event that combines three of my favorite activities and am really looking forward to trying a new spin class and a different type of yoga.

My new favorite double for Sunday is at Equinox in Soho.  I am loving the Purgatory Boot Camp immediately followed by Transcendcycle with Darryl Gaines.  I took this spin class for the first time last week and can totally see what the hype is about.  It was not only a great workout but was fun and uplifting.  I can’t wait to go back!

Now I just need to get through the rest of the week and find some good food to fuel up for my weekend!

Leave a Reply

